The Nanowrimo diaries – Day #1

Just in time for NaNoWriMo, my motivation to write sunk to an uncharted low. I didn’t feel the love and was so tired that, around eleven o’clock last night, I gave up on the idea of writing into National Novel Writing Month and went to bed.

This morning, the world already looked a lot brighter again, and with fresh enthusiasm, I went to work. I chunked out about 400o words (to be precise, 4038), which concludes my first chapter and got all four of my protagonists together.

It took me forever to write those words, though. Which is fine for day one. I had the whole day off, so I could indulge in everything going on in my writers forum in lieu of NaNoWriMo, spend a lot of time messaging with writer friends who also started on their projects, got a long nice walk in the sunshine and a bit of tea time with a friend in (who isn’t a writer but patiently listened to all my ramblings on books, the industry and NaNoWriMo. Thanks, C.!) and in general, just really lazily wrote my way through chapter one.

I also did a lot of editing already because I decided on using third person narration in present tense which is something I haven’t ever done before. It works well, but I keep falling out of it, so there is a lot of going back and forth and straightening out my tenses. That’s definitely gonna be a challenge, but I am up for it.

All in all, it’s been a good first day.

I’ll leave you, aptly, with how it all begins:

“There is a second prince in the dungeons.”
Way to get his attention. A short glance to the side assures Gaevin that Paere, who is on guard with him tonight, hasn’t heard the whispered words. Maybe for the better. The girl who brought the unbelievable news is usually well informed, but he has never fully trusted her. He doesn’t trust anyone who deals in information and rumors. They are too dangerous a commodity.

Leave a Reply

