The NaNoWriMo diaries – day #7

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand here it is. Day one of the “I can’t do this, my writing sucks, everything is stupid” game. Writing was really really really hard today for the most part. It took me about 2000 words until finally, something like flow happened.

I whined to a friend who basically gave the mafia treatment (you know…heave shoes, deep water…) to my inner editor and told me to just go on. Go on I did. I got myself to 3k, which means I managed to shave of 500 words of my deficit from last week.

Lesson of the day? Persistence pays of. (Also, writer friends are golden.)

Mundane office work also allowed me enough brain space this afternoon to get rid of a logic problem in my plot that I fabricated by making things uneccessarily complicated. Just complicated, not complex. There’s a difference that’s sometimes hard to spot but I feel like I am on a good way in that department now.

Wordcount after a week of NaNoWriMo 2016: 16.122

Need for sleep: off the charts.

Bedwards!

 

Leave a Reply

